Switched from cPanel pro to Plesk reloaded ...

Discussion in 'Plesk 7.1 Reloaded Troubleshooting and Problems' started by hostdeploy, Oct 27, 2004.

1. hostdeploy

hostdeploy Guest

Good morning.

I recently switched from the cPanel / WHM Server to a Plesk Reloaded server. I am VERY new to plesk. With that said, I went ahead and downloaded the manual. However, I am having problems. For example...

In cPanel to create a New Hosting Plan, you would simply login to WHM and "Create new Package". Then you would create a new account, and assign them to a package, which in turn would set the limits for that user.

In Plesk, I notice that there is a "Domain Templates" and "Client Templates". Which do I select??? I am really lost. I would just like to create a NEW PACKAGE which sets the end user limites (ie.: x space, x transfer, x subdomains, etc.)

Could someone please assist me with this. Appreciate any help!

Brian Samson

2. PaulC

PaulC Guru

You should create a "Client Template". Using this you can quickly assign the number of domains/mailboxes/etc along with disk and bandwidth limits for that client.

The domains template is used to quickly set a domains limits when setting up a domain (within the client).

3. hostdeploy

hostdeploy Guest

Why then, do I have to set the limits in both the domain template and the client template ? Why does it ask for those limits in both?

I am sorry, but I really dont understand.

Should I create a client template, and a domain template? I still am not understanding. I have 3 hosting plans. Do I just create 3 Domain templates and set this limits?

Any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks.,
    Brian

4. PaulC

PaulC Guru

The client has some limits assigned, that is there total limits and would be your hosting plan.

Say you have a plan which is 100Mb Space, 1000Mb Bandwidth.