Pre-selector functionality (direct links to particular plans) in PBAS 4.3.4

Discussion in 'News & Announcements' started by dkolvakh, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Hello.

    Glad to inform you that pre-selector functionality has been rewritten and extended in PBAS 4.3.4.
    Now it is possible to:
    • Select a plan
    • Select a group of plans
    • Select a category
    • Put arbitrary set of resources, applications, custom attributes, licenses into cart
    • Select preferred subscription period
    • Apply any type of promotion for selected configuration
    • Choose store language

    You as provider or reseller are able to:
    • Create as many configurations (links to particular pre-configured plans) as you need
    • Rename existing configuration
    • Modify configuration and save changes / save as new configuration
    • Delete configurations

    Each vendor has ability to login into his/her own Store and work with his/her own pre-selector configuration.

    The workflow is quite easy. Just go to Store, select and configure a plan, than login as vendor and proceed to pre-selector configuration screen.

    Preselector1.png

    You will be able to create a link for current configuration in cart, or modify some already existing links.

    Preselector2_2.png

    Also you will see the links to hosting plan categories. If you need to switch the links language, go to pre-selector configuration screen and select the desired language.

    Preselector3_2.png

    There is no need in some additional parameters like "series_key", "period" to be set in URL or passed by POST as it was before in old Store. All this parameters was already stored for particular link. Thus, link is short and easy to use everywhere.

    You can grant access to the pre-selector configuration to some person in provider account, like I do on demo site. No need to share vendor's password for someone, just add somebody with the "Sales and Marketing" role, for example.

    Please take a look on this feature on our demo-set http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/configuration
    Access credentials:
    ms@dev.myhspc.com / marketingsales

    Your comments and suggestions are welcome.

    --
    Regards,
    Denis Kolvakh
    Parallels
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2013
  2. scardus01

    scardus01 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    31
    Hi Denis,

    Thanks again for the information! It's great to see the new shop code being improved almost daily. Do you have any estimates of when we can expect PBAS 4.3.4 to be released?

    Sean
     
  3. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Sean,

    Current ETA for PBAS 4.3.4 is Q3 2013.

    We can provide 4.3.4 beta earlier, upon request, to install on lab and play with new Store features, if it will be necessary for somebody.

    We really need feedback right now, to complete development in time with possible improvements \ corrections received from our customers.
     
  4. RaymondFH

    RaymondFH Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    25
    We are interested in testing this. We have a 4.3.3 unit for testing, and would love to have access to 4.3.4 code.

    Please let me know what we need to do.

    Thank you
     
  5. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
  6. vispa

    vispa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    7
    Hi,

    Many of our domain / hosting websites have a domain search form that currently posts to the old PBAS store. Looking at the new design, it doesn't seem possible to send http form post's to the PBAS store?

    Is this possible?
     
  7. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Hello.

    No, this functionality does not exists. I've created feature request, it's internal number #PBAS-28908 for your reference.

     
  8. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Hello vispa.

    We implement this feature, and in PBAS 4.3.4 it should be available to submit domain search form to PBAS store. Please take a look on this thread: http://forum.parallels.com/showthre...website-with-domain-search-form-to-PBAS-Store
     
  9. scardus01

    scardus01 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    31
  10. ThorstenM

    ThorstenM Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Hi Denis,

    That's some great News! But it would be nice, if there was a possibility to pass the period as a parameter. Imagine you have many products with many many different periods. In that case you will have to create for each product and period a separate link. This means a huge load of links (to create and to manage!). The idea of creating shortlinks to products is very good. But it would be really great if there would be some flexibility for periods.
    (You can also see how we use the current version of period and series keys here: http://www.cmo.de/flatserver-pro-2013-advanced.html
    Just scroll down to the period dropdowns and look at the link "Jetzt bestellen" while changing the value of the dropdown.)
    Example:

    You have a product called "Dedicated Server". On your companies Website you have a dropdown menu with the different periods (received from a SQL Statement on the PBAS mySQL Server). Let's say the user has chosen 6 months. So you generate a Link to the new PBAS Shop with PHP:
    general URL:
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/

    Parameter:
    Produkt: DedicatedServer
    Period: 6 Months

    Full URL:
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer_6Months

    So in the current case you will have to generate a Link for each period (if you want the user to decide the period on a separate website outside the shop).
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer_1Months
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer_3Months
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer_6Months
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer_9Months
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer_12Months
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer_24Months

    That would be 6 links for only ONE product. So let's say we have about 20 products? 20 * 6 = 120 links to generate and manage for only 20 products?
    I would appreciate a period parameter in the shortcut links, so i will not have to generate and manage a lot of links.
    If a specific product changes in standard values (lets say we push the lowest HDD size from 500GB up to 1TB) i would have to change 6 links in order to guarantee, that my links are showing to the correct product configuration?

    My idea is to implement a variable period parameter, so you only have one link per product.
    Example:
    http://dev.myhspc.com/shop/en/redirect/DedicatedServer/6

    Where the "6" stands for the amount of months to use in the configuration.

    Greets from Germany
    Matthias Dlugi
    Software Developer
    CMO Internet Dienstleistungen
    http://www.cmo.de
     
  11. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Hello Matthias,

    Your opinion has been considered as feature request, it's internal id is PBAS-28989 for your reference.
     
  12. ThorstenM

    ThorstenM Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    H Denis,
    Thanks :)
     
  13. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Matthias,

    Ability to override period set in pre-selector rule has been implemented.

    PlanPeriods.png

    If you are interested with this, I can provide additional information how to patch your installation.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  14. ThorstenM

    ThorstenM Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Hi Denis,

    Thanks a lot. Some additional information about patching our installation would be great.
     
  15. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Hello Matthias.

    Patch is in attachment. It should be applied on PBAS 4.3.4-22 version only.
    1. Copy it to /var/opt/hspc-store/
    2. Execute
    Code:
    # cd /var/opt/hspc-store/
    # patch -p0 < PBAS-28989.patch
    patching file i18n/EN/hspc-store-basic.xml
    patching file includes/routing.yml
    patching file includes/Entity/Controller.php
    Hunk #1 succeeded at 1318 (offset -10 lines).
    patching file includes/Entity/Main.php
    patching file web/js/preselector.js
    patching file templates/preselector_content.html.php
    
    Your comments, suggestions and any other feedback will be highly appreciated.

    --
    Regards,
    Denis Kolvakh
    Parallels
     

    Attached Files:

  16. ThorstenM

    ThorstenM Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the installation notes for the patch. Are you planning to implement the feature into future versions of the shop? Or will we have to ask for new patches each time PBAS will be updated?
     
  17. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Matthias, this feature will be included in next PBAS release, indeed.
     
  18. ThorstenM

    ThorstenM Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Hi Denis,

    We get these errors after installing the patch (following your notes) and trying to access the generated links:
    store.log

    https://kundencenter.cmo.de/shop/de/redirect/2igp4e2t
    [25-Sep-2013 13:51:27] [ERROR] [81.90.32.68] [index.php, line 92] Unhandled exeption: Controller "Entity\StoreController::preselectorAction()" requires that you provide a value for the "$period" argument (because there is no default value or because there is a non optional argument after this one).
    https://kundencenter.cmo.de/shop/de/redirect/2igp4e2t\12
    [25-Sep-2013 13:51:58] [ERROR] [81.90.32.68] [index.php, line 83] Route not found: /de/redirect/2igp4e2t/12
    https://kundencenter.cmo.de/shop/de/redirect/2igp4e2t\24
    [25-Sep-2013 13:51:58] [ERROR] [81.90.32.68] [index.php, line 83] Route not found: /de/redirect/2igp4e2t/24


    Seems like there has to be some new Route which cant be accessed and a default parameter for Period which is not set. Are there some configuration files or instructions missing?
     
  19. dkolvakh

    dkolvakh Odin Team

    Messages:
    343
    Matthias, this is my fault. Forgot to say, that when you change the /var/opt/hspc-store/includes/routing.yml or routing_custom.yml files, you should clear routes cache:
    Code:
    # rm /var/opt/hspc-store/cache/ProjectUrl*.php
    If you've patched your installation well, this should be enough.
     

Share This Page