Parallels Cloud Server Hardware calculation for a specific requirement.

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by adamjohnson, Nov 28, 2016.

1. adamjohnson

adamjohnson Bit Poster

Hello All,

I am very new to parallels and Parallels cloud servers. I want to deploy the PCS in my lab environment for testing. Before the process, I want some information about hardware requirement.

Can I have any document about minimum and maximum hardware requirement for PCS server ( number of metadata, chunk and client servers required). What would be difference with different combination of the servers ?

If i have a special requirement (like 100 VM/containers, each with 4GB RAM, 2CPUs and 100GB hard disk). How can i calculate the required servers, hardware and HA? If you have any requirement calculation application or document please share me.

Thank you for your understanding and time.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2016
  2. Pavel

Pavel A.I. Auto-Responder Odin Team

Hello Adam,

All requirements are enlisted in our documentation:
    vz6 user guide: http://docs.virtuozzo.com/legacy/vz6/Virtuozzo_Users_Guide.pdfv
    storage configuration: http://docs.virtuozzo.com/legacy/vz6/Virtuozzo_Storage_Administrators_Guide.pdf

You can calculate hardware for containers, and then divide it between number of hosts you plan adding to the storage.
    Documentation above should help you, but there are several points I'd like to mention explicitly:

First of all - it's not recommended to have less than 4 servers running CSes in your pstorage environment, 5 - is a good number. Having 4-5 servers is necessary to ensure you'll have enough space for chunks allocation when one of the nodes goes down - it's planning ahead. So, you may divide resources you plan between 4-5 servers.