-bash: mysql: command not found

Discussion in 'Plesk 6.0 Installation and 'How Do I' Questions' started by corleyman, Dec 11, 2003.

1. corleyman

corleyman Guest

I'm a newbie to shell access. Everywhere I look, people say log into the shell ... then log into the MySQL server by this command:

mysql -uadmin -p

But no matter what folder I'm in on the root, "mysql" gives me "command not found"!

What am I missing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. hardweb

hardweb Guru

Try /usr/bin/mysql.

3. corleyman

corleyman Guest

No such path

My server doesn't have that path. However, the PLESK Server Statistics page has the following path listed:

/usr/local/psa/mysql/var

I have tried to run the "sql ..." comman in all this folder as well as all the surrounding folders. I still get the response of:

-bash: mysql: command not found

Do I need to put a ' ./ ' before the command, or just continue searching for how to get the "mysql ..." command to work?

I'm so frustrated that this one little detail is holding me back! Help, please.

4. jtrefet

jtrefet Mega Poster

make sure mysql client is installed!

5. corleyman

corleyman Guest

MySQL is installed

MySQL has to be installed. I can add databases using PLESK-30 and then access it using phpMyAdmin to add tables.

Do you think I should re-install it ... maybe just in the "correct" folder path?

6. jtrefet

jtrefet Mega Poster

mysql client and mysql server are 2 different packages.

do this:

rpm -qa | grep mysql

tell me what you see.

7. corleyman

corleyman Guest

I entered your command from the root and here is what was returned:

failed to open /var/lib/rpm/packages.rpm: No such file or directory

rpmQuery: rpmdbOpen() failed

So... what do you think that means? Is the MySQL client not installed?

Thanks so much for any further help you can give.

8. jimroe

jimroe Guru