Ability to change registered state of domain name in domain list

Discussion in 'Suggestions and Feature Requests' started by PhilP, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. PhilP

    PhilP Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    34
    If a domain is marked as registered it is not currently possible to mark domain as not registered.

    The need for this can arise if a customer chooses to move the domain registrar to another ISP but keep the domain hosted on your DNS. This can also happen by accident where a staff member incorrectly marks the domain as registered.

    There needs to be a method to simply change the status to not registered without having to delete and then re-create the domain (as is currently the way)
     
  2. PhilP

    PhilP Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    34
    Can we have this as a feature request?
     
  3. FedorK

    FedorK Mega Poster

    Messages:
    224
    If customer move domain he also should stop pay for the subscription. If he stop pay for subscription - subscription is expired and domain should be deleted. Or you can delete domain manually for prevent keep the domain hosted on your DNS.

    We will hide button "Mark as registered" for prevent incorrectly marks the domain as registered.
     
  4. PhilP

    PhilP Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    34
    I may have not explained properly. Sometimes a customer chooses to change domain name provider but still wants us to provide DNS services. We might choose not to charge for this, for example because he still has a hosting plan with us.

    The button "Mark as registered" is useful - please do not remove it.

    What would be also useful though is a button "Mark as not registered" - this is what we would like to see as a feature request.

    I hope that explains?
     
  5. FedorK

    FedorK Mega Poster

    Messages:
    224
    Phil,

    We recommend use for this purpose domains in "Registered Elsewhere" state. This domains created especially for this - provide DNS hosting without domain registration.
    Why you can't use it?
     
  6. PhilP

    PhilP Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    34
    I know - but sometimes customers change their minds, and sometimes staff make mistakes. An option to change it's status by clicking a button is preferable to having to remove it from the system and add it again, especially when you need to re-create all of it's DNS records.

    Thanks

    Phil..
     

Share This Page